Thursday, August 20, 2009

Potty Training, Big Girl Rooms and Mama's Dining Room... Oh My!


Now that Cadance is officially a big girl I decided it was time for her to have her big girl room together. She actually helped me move her toys upstairs (which was pretty nice). We rearranged her room and opened the windows back up and now her toys are in her room as well. She wasn't sleeping right away at nap time or bed time anyway so why not?! She seemed very proud about having her "big girl" room all together.
Not only was this a treat for Cadance but mama got a bonus as well. I now have my dining room back. Who knew the house not looking like a preschool would make me so happy! lol Maybe I can find some sort of zen around here now! :P I'm thinking this fall it would be nice to get some bunco or poker going now that I have a place to do it (and will soon be able to have a few drinks!). Always thinking ahead I guess but that makes me..ME! :)
I also have the girls bathroom all ready to go as well. When Cadance was a baby it was a pain to move everything each time I wanted to take a shower so with 2 little ones I can only imagine. I hooked them up with a duck bathroom and I can just keep all their stuff in one place. Of course mama will still be using it as well (we are officially a 2 bathroom family now). But it will be nice to have everything in one place instead of coming downstairs to get stuff I forgot!
So until then..cheers to having my dining room back...uh...I mean Cadance having her big girl room!





Potty Pro


Day 3:
Well, pro may be a bit strong but...pretty darn close! Day 3 went even better than day 2. I took Cadance out of the house for the first time and she had no accidents. We were gone for about an hour and then came home and when we got back she ran (literally ran) inside and went on the potty (sweet relief! lol). I can't say much other than Cadance is a super star! :) She is really getting this potty thing down!
PS we were NOT happy about this picture being taken but I guess I wouldn't be either! I'll be showing this to her friends when she is 16! lol

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

I'm mostly an A student! (Friggin' Poli Sci was a B!)




I have been so wrapped up in potty training madness I forgot to brag on myself a little bit. I decided rather than take my Intro to Meteorology finals while delivering Lyric I would take them early. I got a 96% (friggin' math gets me every time!) and I got an A in the class. Woo hoo! I think I may have made the Dean's List for this quarter but I won't know until January 1, 2010!! That's a long time to wait and to be honest I'll probably be hung over at that time but oh well, I can't wait to find out! :)

Good Job Pee Pee Monster!


Day 2:
There is NO WAY that Cadance could be this good at potty training already! Ok...well, she is MY child and all :) Lord knows by month 8 of this pregnancy I am the queen of peeing myself! Today went GREAT! Cadance went about 5 or 6 times all by herself and even remembered to pull down her underoos! About 4 or 5 times I asked her if she had to go and she said yes and then went and sat down and went potty. I think 1 time I had to tell her to go to the potty because I could tell she had to go and she was to excited about her T.V. show being on to bother with it. We had NO accidents all day today and she only wet one pair of underoos (she stopped herself and finished on the potty but the underoos were still wet). So all in all, she did GREAt today! I really can't believe how different this time is from last time we tried. And to make all things even better...Cadance is actually enjoying it this time around. I am so glad that I did child led potty training instead of trying to force her into it. I couldn't ask for a better 2 year old pee pee monster! :)

Monday, August 17, 2009

Dueces to Diapers


Day 1:
I can't complain at all! Cadance got up around 8:30am. I immediately changed her out of her PJs and put on her big girl kitty underoos and told her the kitties do NOT like to get wet. I gave her the last couple of diapers in the diaper bin and told her to throw them away. So we put them in the trash and waited for the big truck to come and take them away. When the trash truck came and emptied the trash Cadance started calling out for her diapers. Saying, "Hey wait, diaper!". lol I said the truck took them away to help the babies and told her to say bye bye. So then Cadance started saying "Bye, bye diaper...see ya" and when we shut the door she said "dueces" LMAO! How funny is that?!

Anyway, moving on...I promise you this child can be hard headed! She did not pee for 3 hours (I guess she really didn't want the kitties to get wet). I was thinking this day was going to go down the tubes and we would be where we were at last time we tried. She laid down for her nap (I put a diaper on her because we are going to tackle sleep times next). When she got up she would not go again. So I went to fix dinner and when I was in the kitchen Cadance went over to her potty and sat down and went all by herself! No way!!! She forgot to pull down her underoos but oh well! I was dancing and screaming and clapping and she was so proud of herself. I gave her 1 m&m and then she wanted another so I said not until you go pee pee again. So she waited a couple minutes amd said "Pee, pee" so I helped her pull down the underoos and then she went again. When she got up she started clapping and yelling and said "I pee, peed!" lol She went a couple more times today and then once more before bedtime. She had no major accidents today at all. A couple of times she went a little and stopped herself and then finished on the potty which was so good of her to do!

This potty training bootcamp has already gone SO much smoother than the last! I wouldn't say we're in the green yet just because it is day 1 but hopefully day 2 will be even better. I can't believe she did so well today! It's like she started to get it (or just wanted an m&m...whatever works). So that was my long, drawn out after report of day 1 potty training boot camp! Go Cadance yay! I can't wait to see how my big girl does tomorrow!!!!

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Personal Potty Trainer!

Here we go again...same Ole' stuff again! I'm putting Cadance through potty training boot camp tomorrow and the next day...and the next day..and then again the next day (get the point?)! Daddy is gone to Biloxi, Mississippi with the Marine Corps all week so what better time? I'm so pregnant I can't do anything anyway so here we go again...
Potty seat?
Check.
Reward System?
Check.
Big girl underoos?
Check.
Patience...patience...patience?
Umm..well, heck! Check!
I'm going to wake her up in the morning and tell her that all the diapers left home (HAHA!) and went to help the babies. From then on out..only big girl undies and lots of juice which equals lots of messes but hopefully by day 2 we will be getting the hang of it. Oh yea! I need to fill a potty box of toys for her to play with (forgot about that one but...Check.). Maybe after she is potty trained we can wear normal pajamas that don't have to be backwards because she keeps getting naked. I guess that is thinking way to far in advance though. Here's to Monday...Day 1 of Potty training boot camp!

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Hugs and Kisses from Baby Lyric




Ahhh..how often do we have "those" moments when we are reminded that we have great friends? In my life, those moments are few and far between and have become even more scarce in the past few years. Today was one of those days that my support group of friends all got together and made me feel wonderful! They threw me a baby shower for our new little girl we're expecting in October (or sooner!) Lyric. Absolutely amazing! Theme was pink and white with music type things added in. A handful of my closest friends here in Virginia that have really become like sisters to me in the past 2 years. A couple of ladies were missing but hopefully I'll get to see them soon as well.


We were at my friend Shaneta's mother's home. Shaneta and Anja did a wonderful job setting everything up! There was an amazing spread of food for everyone to eat and we played some cute games. Valerie (our cake extraordinaire) made a beautiful baby cake with a tiny sleeping "Lyric" on top. Just SO cute! Baby girl got LOTS of pink and brown things for her nursery and clothes. To be honest it was just a nice time with great friends! Life has a way of getting hold of people and making you not able to see each other often. Today was great because we all got a chance to get together without the little ones and just enjoy each other's friendship. :) I thank God for these ladies and the friendship's each of them share with me.


Remember...hugs and kisses from Baby Lyric :)


Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Oh, The Places You'll Go


Oh! The Places You’ll Go!
by the incomparable Dr. Seuss

Congratulations!Today is your day.You’re off to Great Places!You’re off and away!
You have brains in your head.You have feet in your shoes.You can steer yourself any direction you choose.You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.
You’ll look up and down streets. Look’em over with care. About some you will say, “I don’t choose to go there.” With your head full of brains and your shoes full of feet, you’re too smart to go down a not-so-good street.
And you may not find any you’ll want to go down. In that case, of course, you’ll head straight out of town. It’s opener there in the wide open air.
Out there things can happen and frequently do to people as brainy and footsy as you.
And when things start to happen, don’t worry. Don’t stew. Just go right along. You’ll start happening too.
Oh! The Places You’ll Go!
You’ll be on your way up!You’ll be seeing great sights!You’ll join the high fliers who soar to high heights.
You won’t lag behind, because you’ll have the speed. You’ll pass the whole gang and you’ll soon take the lead. Wherever you fly, you’ll be best of the best. Wherever you go, you will top all the rest.